Take Your Time | Book Review

Take Your Time (Dirty South #2) by Brittany Carter

Publication Date: February 11th, 2020

Add to Goodreads | Amazon

Fans of Katherine Allred’s THE SWEET GUM TREE and Rachel Gibson’s TRULY MADLY YOURS will love this second chance at romance in this steamy contemporary Southern romance. TAKE YOUR TIME is the sequel to LEAD THE WAY which is as hot as its summer setting and spiced with a touch of mystery and suspense.

Swayze Miller, or so her name is this week, has been on the run for almost two years, hiding from her husband’s killer with her three-year-old son, Ryker. Now, she hopes this small Louisiana town will be big enough to hold her secrets.

When Swayze meets a sexy-as-sin cowboy named Montgomery King, she’s determined not to fall for his charms. But Montgomery isn’t easily deterred.

After a five-year ride with the rodeo and a couple of national wins, Montgomery returns to King Ranch to help his brother Kaden. Kaden King hates Montgomery for leaving after their parents’ death, strapping him with the responsibility of running the ranch alone. He also blames him for trying to come onto his girlfriend when the two were in high school — which was a total bullshit lie to begin with, according to Montgomery.

Despite her intentions, Swayze’s guard begins to fall gently. She opens her heart to Montgomery’s wicked mouth and rough hands that strip her of any resistance she has left.

Soon, Swayze’s comfortable life begins to unravel, and the secrets finally find their way back to her. It’s clear now that not everyone is who they say they are. Swayze and Montgomery’s pasts may be closer than either imagined.

If you love small-town romances, you’ll love DIRTY SOUTH by Brittany Carter, formally writing as best-selling author, Alla Kar.

This is my first read from Brittany Carter and boy did I enjoy it! This was honestly such a cute read and a great break from ALL the dark romance I’ve been reading lately. There’s nothing like a good old cowboy who’s ready to steal your heart. Montgomery King and Swayze Miller are so perfect for each other. They have undeniable chemistry and deserve nothing but true happiness. Brittany Carter does a great job of painting a vivid picture of everything that is going on and that’s when I know I’m reading a really good book. There’s a mystery, some twists and lots of love. This was such a great slow-burn read and something I really needed!

Solid ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I received an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

About the Author:

BRITTANY CARTER, formally writing as best-selling new adult author ALLA KAR, is southern born and raised. She spends her days selling insurance, and her night’s binge watching NETFLIX shows with her husband. Her favorite job of all is chaos coordinator to their three-year-old wild child, Maddox. Every free moment she has from her chaotic life is spent writing and imagining her next story. She loves to bring small, southern towns to life, with swoon-worthy alpha males and women that put them in their place. She loves a happily-ever-after, blame it on the Disney Princess inside, and a story that keeps you guessing to the end. Brittany graduated with an English degree in 2013 from The University of Arkansas at Monticello, with a minor in Journalism. She previously wrote romance novels under her pen name ALLA KAR, but decided to come out of the pen name closet and write so her family and friends could enjoy as well! 

Follow the Author:

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Follow Curvy Constellation:

Instagram | Goodreads | Pinterest 

2 thoughts on “Take Your Time | Book Review

  1. It has been so long since I have read a cowboy romance and I used to really enjoy them… I need to get back to the romance subgenres I tend to enjoy again! I am glad you could enjoy this break from all the dark romance and find a new author you like as well ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Olivia-Savannah Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s